You are not logged in.

Dear visitor, welcome to Handballecke.de - Das Handballforum von Fans für Fans. If this is your first visit here, please read the Help. It explains in detail how this page works. To use all features of this page, you should consider registering. Please use the registration form, to register here or read more information about the registration process. If you are already registered, please login here.

Friday, April 8th 2005, 8:11pm

bojana popovic speaks

Quoted

Interview with Bojana Popovic

Europamester.dk and europamester.dk/english has had the opportunity to interview one of the very best female handballers right now, Bojana Popovic. We asked her about how she started playing handball, about her ambitions for the future and if she’ll return to the national team of Serbia & Montenegro at the World Championship in Russia.

Europamester: At what age did you start playing handball?

-I started playing when I was 11 years old. My big sister played handball so it wasn’t by random chance. Back then I wanted to copy everything she did. Earlier I did some athletics and some other kinds of sport in my spare time.

Europamester: How were your prospects as a young player?

-Right from the beginning I was being announced as a talent, but it wouldn’t matter if I didn’t develop it. In my first years I had an excellent coach. He was very important for my development and he taught me many difficult, technical skills. I really enjoyed this.
A quality coach means the world to a young and talented player. It’s in the early years you learn the most, and it’s crucial you get the game right the first time. This will help you build up skills in the future.

Europamester: Did you dream of becoming the best player in the world and what about role models, did you have any?